My 52 Books #13 “The Holiness of God” by R.C. Sproul


If you were to choose one word to describe the eternal God of all creation, what would that be?  The Scriptures are full of words and phrases that express the attributes of God (Loving, Just, merciful, wrathful, all knowing, all powerful etc…), but there is one that describes the core of His being:  Holy.  This captures the essence of who He is, and it is the one attribute that all other attributes flow out of.

“Only once in sacred Scripture is an attribute of God elevated to the third degree.  Only once is a characteristic of God mentioned three times in succession.  The Bible says that God is holy, holy, holy.  Not that He is merely holy, or even holy, holy.  He is holy, holy, holy. The Bible never says that God is love, love, love; or mercy, mercy, mercy; or wrath, wrath wrath; or justice, justice, justice.  It does say that He is holy, holy, holy, that the whole earth is full of His glory.”

If the Bible gives such an emphasis on this aspect of who God is, then I want to seek that out with everything I have (which is no safe endeavor).  And in the process of seeing His holiness, expounded upon by Dr. Sproul, I find myself feeling incredibly unworthy and insignificant in the midst of His greatness.  His holiness is so awesome, that anything unholy in His presence is immediately consumed.  Like a dry leaf to a flame, His holiness is a consuming fire.

This is one of the few books that I seek to read or listen to at least once a year, since it continually has that kind of impact on me.  Seeing the greatness of His majesty as He shouts through His creation and word just drives me to my knees in awe.  The psalmist had the right frame of mind when he said, “what is man that you are mindful of him?” (Psalm 8:4).

His holiness will demand an eternal justice one day for the crimes of every man and woman.  And even the most trite of sins are far more exceedingly sinful that we know.  Yet in spite of our rebellion, He poured out His divine wrath on the Person of Jesus, who took our punishment on Himself.  He loved us that much.  And for those who are born again, His holiness is a greatness that can be approached with confidence and awe, as opposed to absolute terror.  That which is holy is scary, since it is foreign to us.  But because of His great mercy and grace, those who are in Him are now considered holy, because He has made us holy.
Amazing Grace…..how sweet the sound 🙂

This is one of those books that will most likely pass the timeless test of many generations to come.

About Dan Bartol

I decided to walk in my old mentor's footsteps by starting a blog primarily dedicated to reviewing 1 book per week. While I typically read books on theology and philosophy, I am hoping to stretch myself a little by reading other genres of literature. I don't know if that will always happen, since I'm trying to read what will benefit me at school, but I am certainly going to try when I get the chance. View all posts by Dan Bartol

One response to “My 52 Books #13 “The Holiness of God” by R.C. Sproul

Leave a Reply

